Uncategorized

Juicy Aorta

We recently replaced our old, faithful Jack Lalane Express Juicer for a Breville. 2 years ago, after watching “Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead”, we decided to add Green Juice to our diet because we were inspired by the movie and I wanted to see if I could get off some of my meds. I was SO exhuasted from them and they are really hard on your organs. After getting a good laugh out of my Stanford Cardiologist and his approval to add juicing as well as tracking and recording my BP, BEFORE he would make a recommendation, we tried it.

My BP was well controlled with the meds (100/70) at the time. It was the side effects which concerned us. 2 weeks later and 10 pts, consistently lower on the BP monitor, (was actually too low) he adjusted my meds. I went off 2 meds and 4 doses…BIG step. I have a medically managed Type B Aortic Dissection. This may not be the result for everyone or recommendation for all Aortic patients BUT it is healthy and may help control BP along with a medicinal regime.

One of the benefits of juicing is you get the nutrients faster because your body doesn’t have to break down as much. It’s also a great “pick-me-up” and gives us almost instant energy. We don’t juice in place of a meal (obviously!). We juice for the nutritional benefit. This is the Dr. Oz Green Juice recipe-with extra ginger cuz I like it spicey! Try it for a month or two…or everyday. Your Aorta will thank you!

 

Leave a Reply

